Who are we?

Our Story

The Morris Education Trust became formally constituted as a Multi-Academy Trust on 31 October 2016.  The Trust has been built on the principles and ethos of Impington Village College, and is looking for partners who wish to be part of an ethical Trust built on the values of a Village College.

Henry Morris was the Chief Education Officer for Cambridgeshire from the 1920s up to the 1950s. It was his memorandum written in 1925 that laid the foundation for the village colleges. In this piece, Morris writes that ‘The village college could lie athwart the daily lives of the community it served; and in it the conditions would be realised under which education would not be an escape from reality, but an enrichment and transformation of it. For education is committed to the view that the ideal order and the actual order can ultimately be made one’.  We believe the Trust seeks to do the same – enrich and transform the lives of students and pupils who come to the schools.

In April 2017 Witchford Village College joined the Trust family and in November 2017, the Morris Teaching School Alliance (MTSA) was established.  We have been granted permission by the DfE to build a Special Free School for children with autism, The Cavendish School, which is due to open in September 2021.

The Trust has been approved as a sponsor which means it can incorporate schools or academies into the Trust that have been identified by the Department for Education as needing support.


The Morris Education Trust was legally formed by five founding Members who represent the existing school communities.  They meet as a minimum once a year to appoint Trustees and to ensure the Trust is still fulfilling its Articles.  The current Members are:

  • Dr Huw Jones
  • Julian Mellor
  • Hildegard O’Kane
  • Martin Rigby

The Board of Trustees are appointed by the Members to oversee the development and operation of the Trust.  The Trustees meet monthly to set the direction for the Trust, hold the CEO to account and to ensure financial probity.  The current Trustees are:

  • Lucy Scott (CEO) – Lucy is CEO of the Trust and Executive Head of Chesterton Community College. She is a global leader in school leadership and a member of the National College for Teaching and Leadership. Beginning her career as a teacher of English, Lucy is known for being at the cutting edge of improving educational standards, and has led schools both in the UK and Internationally.

  • David Jenkins – David Jenkins joined the governing body of Impington Village College in 2006 before becoming a Trustee of the Morris Education Trust in 2016 where he is the link trustee for The Cavendish School. He is a member of Histon & Impington Parish council, which he chaired between 2013 and 2017, and has been a county councillor since 2006. David is now semi-retired after a career in industry where he had executive and non-executive director positions in both public and private sector organisations. He is now a business coach helping the owners and directors of small and medium sized enterprises to run their businesses well.
  • Martin Rigby cropped for websiteMartin Rigby (chairman) – Martin Rigby is chairman of the Morris Education Trust and was previously a governor of Impington Village College.  He is a director of a venture fund management business investing in high growth technology businesses and serves as non-executive director of a number of public and private companies.  He was previously a regular army officer.

  • Keith Thomson – Keith Thomson is an experienced business leader and professional engineer and for the last 13 years has been responsible for HR in a FTSE250 company and a member of the Group’s Executive Team with oversight of recruitment, training and development, succession planning and resourcing and retention. Keith developed his interest in education through leading his company’s schools outreach programme and involvement with STEM programmes. He has been a member of the Employment Policy & Skills Committee of the Engineering Employers Federation (EEF) and the Business & Industry Panel of EngineeringUK. Along with his general management experience he adds value to MET through his skills and insights in human resources strategy and practice.

  • Victoria Stubbs – Victoria Stubbs is an experienced compliance and risk professional, working mainly in the finance sector. She is currently a director of a high profile local financial services organisation with responsibility for designing and implementing a risk management framework, strategy development, and managing the provision of legal services and internal audit. Victoria also speaks at conferences on risk management. Her skills acquired from a highly regulated industry help ensure MET is meeting its obligations and furthering its vision in the most effective way.

MET Register of Interests

MET Trustees and Members Meeting Attendance 2019-20

ELA Scheme of Delegation Sept 2020

Minutes of the Trust Board Meetings

MET Governance Structure

MET Governance Boards chairmen

Information about our policies and formal documentation are on the About page. If you have any queries about the organisation please get in touch here or contact Jenna Bickley, Business Support Manager on hello@tmet.org.uk or 01223 200409.